2.26 Ghz? Scew that!

Who overclocks a Celeron? Apparently I do. For lack of better things to do and sheer utter curiosity I decided to figure out how to overclock a processor. And seeing my laptop runs hot enough as it is, (that and I can’t figure out how to get into BIOS) I’m left with my new 2.26 Ghz Celeron on the desktop.

I wasn’t even sure if you could overclock a Celeron, but I’m here to say yes, you can. And fairly nicely as well. I upped her to 3.0 Ghz (2.97 Ghz to be exact) and I could have gone further, but my motherboard doesn’t seem to support some key options.


So the Celeron D processors are pretty spiffy indeed. I surely wouldn’t choose one over a P4, but this little guy was $56. And that price for a 3 Ghz isn’t bad now is it? There’s been word of the 2.4 Cel D’s being over clocked to 3.8 Ghz stable! All you need is the right motherboard. Which I may have to aquire. =)

Posted on February 5, 2005, in Milestones, Tech. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

