What a SMALL world!

I had an interesting experience at work today! I’m sitting at my computer and my phone rang. There was a guy on the line who said that he wanted to place an ad. I was like… ok. Nothing unusual there.

So, to pull up a customer’s billing information we use their phone number. Well he gave me his number and it didn’t bring up anything. I asked if it was the first time he advertised in our paper and he said yes. So I got ready to type in all his personal information, and I said “Can I get your last name?”

His response… “Althouse.”

I said, “You’ve got to be kidding me! That’s my maiden name! You don’t hear that last name too often!”

“I bet I’m related to you,” he told me.

I asked if he knew Frank and Dolores Althouse, and that they were my Grandparents. He said, “Oh yeah! I’m Paul Althouse. Your dad and I are 1st cousins (at least I think that’s what he said). And you must be Jamie, and your brother is Matt!”

What a small world! I was blown away! When he said his last name, it took me a second and I was thinking, did he really say “Althouse”… yeah he did! Wow!

Written by:  Jamie

Posted on February 3, 2006, in Saweet!. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

  1. He he. That’s crazy.

    I was up at Grandma’s this weekend and she was telling me about that too. Everything comes full circle. =P–>

Leave a Reply

