A lil’ history.

Well, this all started probably a month ago when I decided to take an alternate drive out to Hays to visit Biebs. I decided to take Old Highway 40 instead of boring ol’ I-70 the whole way. It was a really pretty drive, and a lot of old downtown areas. There were also a lot of old stone buildings too. Outside of Junction City, I drove by an old schoolhouse. I remember as a kid, driving up to Sabetha, and when we’d get close to Junction City, Mom would tell us to look off to the south and you could see her old house, and that it was an old stone church.

I thought for sure this was the place!

Not it!

I was wrong. But hey! In my defense, it’s not like I had ever seen the place before! I had been talking to Grandma on the phone for a while and she said it was further down the road. About 6 miles from Junction City. A couple days later, I got some pictures in the mail of the old house.

Black and white goodness.

All by itself

I think I recognize those pillows!

I think I recognize those pillows!

And I also got a few pictures of family.

So armed with this new information and a rare sunny day, I set out to find the place as it exsists today.

That wasn't there!
It's changed a bit!


The guy that Grandma sold the house to, Lyman Budden still owns it. I got to talk to him a bit, and he’s a pretty interesting guy. He put the addition on the front. Said he pulled it in on a trailer with a pick-up truck, backed up the the house, then let the air out of the tires of the trailer to set it down and hasn’t moved it since! He said he bought the house back in the day for $10,000. Now the road that heads up to the house is a paved path. There’s several small buildings he built around it for vehicles and equipment. And from what it looks like a lot more trees.

As we chatted, he talked about shortly after he moved in, and he was out in the pasture northeast of the house, and he found a bunch of marbels on the ground. He raked them up and still has them to this day! Think mom, and uncle David played with these?

Worth $1500?

The old guy sure liked to talk, and while I found it interesting, I think he’s a bit of a storyteller. He said he took these marbels to an antique shop in Junction City and a guy told him there was a marbel in there worth $1200, and that that whole dish was worth $1500. I find that hard to believe, but then again…I don’t know much about marbles!

One last question was…was it a schoolhouse, or was it a church? Grandma kept saying it was a schoolhouse, Mom always said it was a church. Maybe it was used as both. But the corner stone displays the date the building was erected, and that it was…a church.

“In memory of Chas N. Mc??? by his wife Susan.”

So it’s been an exciting adventure for me at least. I find things like this interesting. Imagining what it was like to be around then, all the stories these places could tell. I hope you find it interesting as well!

Posted on October 25, 2006, in Moments of Clarity, Projects. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. thats awesome ..i know my mums old house can still be seen south of ingalls but not as kewl as this one. i think the house that gandma is in now actully has a more interesting history than the one south of ingalls.

  2. That is the house I remember. Mainly from photographs since I was only 4.

    Kinda sorry to see he put that addition on the front. It takes away from the peaked windows and the ‘old church’ look. I’m sure it was both a church and a school, isn’t how they used to do that in the olden days?

    How would you go about finding out who Chas and Susan are? Wonder if the library would have old records of previous owners? Is the full name on the memorium marker?

    And, hey! If those marbles are worth $1500 I would love to lay claim to them. But I am guessing they belonged to your Uncle Bill and Aunt Sara. They were at the farm with Grandma Pat and Grandpa Ray all the time.

    Thanks for sticking with it and bringing back the old days.

  3. They did have the full name on the cornerstone. But the railing was built to where I couldn’t get a good photo of it, and I didn’t write it down. =P I’m sure there’s records somewhere. There’s also a smaller stone building that is completely delapidated to the south, which is older, it might have been the original church prior to 1891 and maybe a parsonage after that? I didn’t get any pictures of that building because I couldn’t really get close enough.

    And as a car geek, I’d like to point out that the car in the background of a couple of the pictures above is a 1959 Buick Electra. A car which I’m sure Andrea thinks is ugly.
















  4. thats a beauty of a car !!

Leave a Reply

