OMGWTFBBQ!

I just noticed today that my hard drive is almost completely full! There’s not a whole lot I want to delete, and I’m pretty sure I’m going to need more than 3 gigs of storage for the future. So I ordered a 250 gig drive from Newegg tonight. That should suffice.

I’d like to think that I would never be able to fill 250 gigs worth of space, but I also remember saying that when we got our first 20 GB hard drive back in the day. *sigh*

So for now I’m just taking it easy and working on copying stuff over to the new FTP server which is up and running at ftp://kartmaster.myftp.org at least I hope. There’s nothing there yet but hopefully there will be soon. If you’re looking for a great ftp client and you use Firefox, I can’t say enough about FireFTP. Check it foo!

Posted on January 10, 2007, in Tech. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. what I would hear if I filled this hard drive? hee hee Of course, you don’t do the silly, unnecessary downloading that I used to do.

    And, I’m sure you guys have explained it to me, but what is ftp?

    (Not sure what key I hit that made that post after just a few words, but read them together)

  2. I was JUST thinking about getting another hard drive, since I’m almost out of space too! I was looking at the 500GB ones, which would put me at 1.5TB… I guess I DO do the silly downloading Sue was talking about…

    FTP stands for File Transfer Protocol, it’s just a way to move files from one computer to another.

  3. FTP = File Transfer Protocol. It’s a part of the internet used basically to transfer files from one computer to another. An FTP server is kinda like a storage bin for files that people can access though an FTP client. So just like a messenger client like ICQ allows you to chat with other computers across the internet, an FTP client allows you to share files with other computers using FTP .

    But just like with messenger, you have to know where to find them. Just like every person on a messenger service has a ‘nickname’ to easily locate and identify them, every FTP server has an address much like a web address. So for example my FTP server’s address is ftp://kartmaster.myftp.org. That’s the ‘location’ you would tell your FTP client to find my ftp server. At that point you would login with a username and password that I set up for you, and it would bring up a directory of files that I chose to make available. Depending on settings, you can download copies of those files, upload your own unique files, or even delete files that are already there.

    That FireFTP client is a Firefox extension, which means it’s an add-on to Firefox. If you go to the site and click download. A yellow bar will probably pop up. Click the button on that bar and allow fireftp.mozdev.org to be one of your trusted sites. Then click download again, wait until the install button lights up. Then install and restart Firefox. From then on FireFTP will be in your tools menu at the top of the screen. Click on it and it brings up an FTP client right there in Firefox, blam!

  4. there is no such thing as “silly, unnecessary downloading” ive easily filled up my 200 gig but when i need to get space i break out the dvdr’s

  5. Does this allow you to share all sorts of files, then? It’s selective as to who you allow into your info world?

    Yeah, I tended to agree with you, Josh. It just happened that the puter messed up after I was downloading a lot of music.

  6. Well I got my new hard drive and everything copied over. Nice to have some breathing room again. There was a great deal on a widescreen LCD monitor to, so I picked that up. I don’t know how I went all this time without one!

Leave a Reply

