Oh SNAP!

As you’ve probably noticed, WordPress added this “Snap!” feature to the blogs that lets you preview links without clicking on them. I don’t know about anyone else but I find it incredibly annoying, mostly useless, and a little too much like adware. Personally I disabled it by clicking on options in the bubble. It’s cookie based though which means if you switch computers, or you clear out your cookies you’re going to have to disable it again.

That said, I can disable it in the options. But if you guys liking having it around I can just leave it enabled and keep it turned off on my end. Discuss.

Posted on January 15, 2007, in Annoyances. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. turn it off its annoying

  2. After having trouble turning it off on my laptop, I decided to shut it down for the whole site. Like I say, if a few people around here genuinely like the feature, I can enable it again.

  3. i don’t know why they just implement it have it off by default and let everyone know about it then they can decided whether to turn it on or not

  4. Why do I not know what you are talking about? Oh well, what’s new!? haha

  5. It’s a feature that if you put your mouse on a link (without clicking) it pops up a window with a small preview of what the front page of that site looks like.

    Click here for an example.

    It does that for every link though, so if you’re reading and unwittingly move your mouse across a link, it at the least distracts you, and at worst obscures what you’re trying to read or look at.

Leave a Reply

