I played with someone’s Wii.

Okay, the Wii jokes are just too easy. I wonder if the Japanese thought of that when they picked the name, or if it was just another announcement that made Nintendo of America put their face in their hands knowing they were going to have to deal with the P.R. of it all.

Names aside I was pretty impressed. All I played was Wii sports with Stooks but it was a blast. At first, I’ll admit, I felt a bit insecure standing there with a Wiimote in my hand pretending to be holding a tennis racket, or a bowling ball, but once you get into the game and realize how really fun it is, you’ll find yourself lurching and swinging just as if you were right there in the game. I always though that simple wrist flicks were all you really had to do for the Wii to interpret the movements, but it really does work better if you go through the full range of motion whether it’s swinging a golf club, or pitching a baseball.

It was a good time and it tempts me to run out and try to find one. But I’m in major money saving mode right now, and I keep telling myself I’m not getting any more games until I beat Final Fantasy XII! Now if someone were to give me one on the other hand…I suppose I’d find a way to deal with it. 😉

Posted on January 30, 2007, in Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hey, didn’t Stooks have a couple extra? Or did he go ahead and sell them?

    I’d like to have one, but I’m sticking to my plan of giving the DS a chance to drop in price and get one of those.

    What does “Wii” stand for in Japanese?

  2. I don’t believe it stands for anything in Japanese, and that’s probably why they didn’t think much of it. They probably looked “Wii” up in an English dictionary and saw that it wasn’t a word, and said ‘Go for it!’

  3. you havnt beaten ff12 yet ? geez get with the program

Leave a Reply

