I’m not “hardcore”.

I just realized today after messing around on the IGN Message Board, that I’m not a “hardcore gamer” anymore.

The poll was:

Is there anyone else who considers themself a hardcore gamer, and only owns a Wii?

  • Yes, I am a hardcore gamer, and I only own a Wii (117 votes)
  • No, I am a hardcore gamer, and I own Wii and 360 (47 votes)
  • No, I am a hardcore gamer, and I own a Wii and PS3 (5 votes)
  • No, I am a hardcore gamer and I own a 360 and PS3 (10 votes)
  • No, I’m not a hardcore gamer, but I only own a Wii (5 votes)

I realized I don’t fall into any of those categories. There was a point in time not too long ago that I had a Gamecube, PS2, and Xbox and plenty of games for all of them. But I haven’t picked up and really haven’t played any of the new consoles at all. I guess that doesn’t make me “hardcore” like I used to be.

I don’t know that my interest in video games has decreased a whole bunch, I still often find myself wishing I had more time to play. And according to my Xfire profile I’ve racked up almost 300 hours playing Guild Wars. But it’s just not like it used to be back in the day. Not that I wish I were a hardcore gamer like before, I just didn’t realize I wasn’t anymore until I read that poll. Never really thought about it I guess.

Posted on June 12, 2007, in Moments of Clarity, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Yep! There comes a time when you stop and think, “I haven’t played or thought about that in a long time!” At least that is the way it is with me. I was never hardcore into a bunch of games. But there was a time a few years back when I played the hell out of Animal Crossing. Now I do good to pick weeds and kill roachs once every six months!

  2. I know. I’m really getting in the mood to pull my DS back out and play some Animal Crossing and Mario Kart DS at least!

Leave a Reply

