More to sleep than sleeping?

There’s few things about day to day life I dislike more than waking up. Seems like no matter how much or how little I sleep, I never wake up feeling rested. Sure after about 10 minutes of being up I feel rejuvenated and ready to face the day. But that first waking moment that you’re laying in the bed squinting at the sun filtering in through the blinds, there’s nothing I’d rather do than go back to sleep. I’m just not a morning person I guess.

I usually go to bed around midnite or 12:30 and set my alarm for 8:30. I figure that’s a good eight hours of sleep. Today I decided to change up my routine for one reason or another, I set my alarm for 7:30 instead. I still hit the snooze button once, but I got up much more easily today than in recent memory. There wasn’t the general haziness, I was up out of bed and alert…weird.

I’ve always heard you can sleep too much, but I thought they meant like ten hours (not eight) being too much! They also say you’re supposed to set a consistent time to go to bed and a consistent time to get up. I believe that, and I guess that’s why I’m so surprised I got up as easily as I did the same day I changed it.

So less sleep is more I guess? Fine with me. It just gets in the way of things I’d rather be doing anyway!

Posted on September 17, 2007, in Moments of Clarity. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

