No matter what I feel bad.

I won’t lie. One of my biggest weaknesses is organizing my time. I’ve tried carrying a planner, I’ve tried digital calendars. But when it comes down to it, there’s only so much time in a day/week/etc. Its only a matter of time before my forgetfulness coupled with my underlying urge to try to make people happy gets me in trouble.

I had been on vacation for a while right? And in between cussing sessions with my car, Grandma Pat calls and asks if I can come up for Thanksgiving. I explain to her that Andrea and I already planned on being in SWK for the holiday, and that I have to work Friday, but that I could probably make it up for the weekend after (i.e. tomorrow). Well sometime late Tuesday I check my e-mail and there’s a little reminder in there that I have a remote Saturday (tomorrow) from 1-4. DAMN!

So dreading it, I call up Grandma and Grandpa to tell them I’m not going to be able to make it Saturday and will try to get up there Sunday, but that I probably won’t make it in time to see Uncle David. So they put David on the phone who always gives me jabs about keeping in touch with people as it is ha ha. But he’s pretty understanding. So I wrap up the call feeling bad, but relieved that the tension is over and once again there is certainty in my future. However unpleasant it may be.

Not to long thereafter, Jenn, our night DJ comes in to work, and I was telling her about the whole fiasco (popular term these days) and she offers to do the remote for me! What a nice girl! She’s always going out of her way to be helpful and its nice to work with somebody who will actually do a favor for you from time to time. I asked if she would still let me have the money though, and she said no. Bitch.

In the end the the best possible outcome came through. Well I’m going to have a slightly smaller paycheck, but other than a bit of guilt for for weaseling out of a responsibility I agreed to weeks in advance, I’m relieved. Oh. And I still have turkey to eat. All is right with the world.

Posted on November 23, 2007, in Radio, Uh oh. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ya know, you are a great guy! Hope the trip up went nice.

    I was just thinking yesterday. Maybe sometime instead of US expecting you to drive out here to spend the holiday, WE should make the trip up there! What do ya think? Not sure where you’ll be moving, but how about you guys host the first of your married holiday seasons next year!?

Leave a Reply

