Little bit of ice.

Here’s some pics of what happened overnight last night as the ice storm rolled through.

Pretty crazy.  I think the El Camino is okay, but I wasn’t going to run out there and check.  It was like a war zone man.  Trees were literally falling from the sky.  You’re hear CRACK!  POP!  WHAM!  as a limb would fall from a tree.  A guy could get killed just standing around out there.  I had to go clear the driveway so Andrea could get her car out for work and it was like being in a minefield.  Just hoping you don’t step in the wrong place at the wrong time.

We’ve been lucky not to lose power yet.  Our power lines are pretty vulnerable though.  I think they’re running straight through a tree or two.  So I’m almost just waiting for it to happen.  They’re calling for another half to 3/4 an inch of ice throughout the day.  Who knows what I’ll come home to.  Good thing the pets have fur coats.

We’re doing fine though.  Andrea made it to work, and I’ll head that way in a bit.  Nothing is broke yet that I can tell, and it’ll be up to my landlord to figure out what to do with all the big ass limbs.  I’ll be nice to pile ’em all up for him though!

Posted on December 11, 2007, in Nature's Fury. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Those pictures look like that storm you brought out here with you last holiday season! See, it is you guys! You are the “Bringers of Ice Storms”! ha-ha

    How did it turn out? Did you guys lose power (yet)? It wasn’t nearly as bad here as they predicted.

  2. Yeah, we finally lost power. We had some friends come over to stay with us since they lost power at their apartment. Everything was fine then we hear a big BOOM and the lights went out. We went outside a tree branch had fallen on the line and ripped it right out of the pole. This was about 8pm so we decided to sleep there. We woke up and it was the same temperature inside as it was outside. It really sucked. We made sure the pets had some blankets to crawl in and food and water. Now we’re at another friends house that has heat to stay the night. Hopefully we won’t be without power for much longer. The nice thing is that our water heater is gas, so we can still take showers! At least we won’t stink, but we’ll be freezin’ our asses off! hehe We’ll keep you guys updated.

  3. After I’d posted on this I asked myself, “If they don’t have power then how will they even know I asked!” Yeah, I’m not the brightest bulb! When you didn’t reply, I kinda figured it was a given that you were in the dark and cold!

    I overheard a couple of guys talking at work yesterday and sounds like a lot of people in NE KS lost power. I’d hate to be one of the guys that works hours out in the cold hooking power back to everyone!

Leave a Reply

