Sick people annoy the hell out of me!

The main reason I detest cold weather is the flu season. All kinds of germs and bugs are out there and for some reason I seem to find them!

I’d managed to catch something a week and a half ago. Miserable! Temp, sore throat, blah-blah… I spent my money, went to the doctor, got medicine and got better. Stayed home til the doctor said I wasn’t contagious, then went back out into the public.

Now, less than two weeks later I get sick again! Back to the doctor, more medicine… I woke up at 4 a.m. tired, but wide awake. THAT is frustrating. I laid there for an hour talking to the cat. And she looked up at me like she understood my misery, precious thing!

All of this because sick people don’t stay home. Now, I understand that being in a bubble is impossible. But have you ever walked thru a store and there is a person coughing and sneezing and no concern over covering their mouth? Dragging their sick kids out in a restaurant with snot running down their face, cheeks flushed and even a perfect stranger like me can tell they don’t feel good? Oh, my favorite… People who leave their used kleenex in the shopping cart!? WHAT is all this about?

I realize I am a germ-a-phobic. But it’s freaking ridiculous! And after spending $150 on medicine and dr office visits in the past ten days, I think I have a right to bitch! I’d rather walk into a place of business and see a sign telling me they are under-staffed due to employees’ being gone with the flu than walk in and have some sick fool coughing all over me, my purchase or whatever!

Fuzz and I talked about this at 4 a.m. and she agreed with me! I love that cat!!!!

Posted on January 25, 2008, in Annoyances. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. id lose my job if i had to stay home if i were sick and i was sick last week. and guess who they made run the register ….me!!! so i had to stand there box of Kleenex’s and a bottle of that sanitizer stuff.

    there were three other workers that could have ran the register, but no apparently since i was sick thats where you are suppose to be is at the register spreading the disease. i went through almost one box of tissues and two bottles of that sanitizer crap.

  2. I’m lucky to have gotten away with a single cold. Of course I don’t have to deal with “the public” like you guys do. I’d make me sick more ways than one, but I digress.

    Biebs brings up the rub though. A lot of time a boss is either too lazy to find another person or rearrange some duties and will hold it against you if you use a sick day, even if the company allows you so many. That or they have the “I haven’t missed a day in..blah blah” attitude and don’t understand why a person could be so sick they couldn’t work. But the thing that really makes them a bad manager is the lack of respect for their customer’s health, and well being in general.

    The sick people that call in and head to the store though? Seriously, unless you’re buying a cart full of sudafed, stay home. You’ll be suspected for meth anyway.

Leave a Reply

