I guess I don’t have enough compassion.

What’s up with everybody going nuts around the Olympic Torch?  So far London had 25 folks arrested, and in Paris they actually had to put out the torch because people are going nuts about the Olympics being in China this year.

From the little (very little) I’ve read about this it has something to do with monks, yaks, Tibet, and China being a-holes.  But I’ll be honest, when it boils down to it.  I really don’t care.  I don’t care enough to read up on the situation, and I certianly don’t care enough to show up at the nearest torch relay and get belligerent.  I just find it odd with all the injustice in the world, this sets people off.

First of all, what is this about?  Is it about the Olympics?  Or is it about Tibet?  I’m inclined to think it’s about Tibet, and the torch run thing is just a convenient photo op.  I mean, who really cares about the Olympics anyway?  It’s just one of those things that gets plastered all over the news and TV so you feel like you have to be interested.

But then again, who really cares about Tibet?  Who sits around and says, “That torch is coming through here headed for China, I’m going to stop it! That’ll sure help out those Tibetans!

So China’s gonna go, “OH HEY, see all those violent people being violent in peaceful events?  They’re right, we’re totally handling this the wrong way. GG Tibet.” When’s the last time China gave two —-s about what anybody else thought?

There’s a fine line, I think, between compassion and contempt.  Maybe I really don’t care about the plight of the Tibetan people.  Or maybe I think me going out and being a d-bag isn’t going to do any good.

Posted on April 7, 2008, in Conundrums. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. To be honest, I heard about the torch trouble but I have no idea what it’s about. I assumed it’s just another group of people trying for their fifteen minutes of fame. It has nothing to do with the running of the torch. Let’s face it, that torch has made quite a few trips around the world without incident. So as far as I can tell it’s just another group pulling a b.s. stunt trying to get their cause (which before this, may have been a legitimate cause) on the ‘road map of the world’.

    When push comes to shove, the only two things that would make a difference is athletes boycotting the Olympics or viewers not tuning in to watch the events.

    That’s my opinion and I could be wrong. Heck, I’m wrong a lot!

  2. I agree to some extent. I don’t think its about the Olympics at all. I agree that it was basically a good photo opportunity to get people talking. This being the case I think it worked. No it wasn’t a successful way in the aspect that it didn’t solve anything. Nor was it the correct way to handle the situation and I don’t think its right at all. However, look at it this way it got people talking. All over the world people are talking about it. You yourself say…

    “But I’ll be honest, when it boils down to it. I really don’t care. I don’t care enough to read up on the situation, and I certainly don’t care enough to show up at the nearest torch relay and get belligerent. I just find it odd with all the injustice in the world, this sets people off.”

    Honestly you don’t care but it impacted you enough to write about it. You have strong enough feelings because of their actions to blog about it so it got you thinking/blogging/talking about it with others. This one small event got lots of attention and anything that gets attention will “set people off.” We like to feel like we’re making an impact in this world. Any way we can rebel or “help” by discussing world issues or problems makes people feel like they’re making a difference and contributing to the resolution. Like I said before I agree, not the right way to handle it, who cares, and there are bigger injustices in the world. But I think one has to admit… regardless of initial intentions…it was successful.

  3. I suppose you’ve got a point. Even though it’s not going to motivate ME to do anything about it. It did bring world wide attention to the situation I suppose. People who weren’t aware before now will be, and it will stay in the front of people’s minds. After all we’re all sheep.

    My question might be though, does that justify their actions? Are they still nutjobs? Or just people with strong convictions?

  4. I’m not sure if you’re really wanting a response or not but I think it does NOT justify their actions and like I said was probably not the initial intent. I believe they could very well be just some crazy nutjobs.

  5. What happened to the days when you could affect worlds of change by slapping a simple “Free Tibet” bumper sticker on your station wagon?

Leave a Reply

