Who needs Windows?

Here’s my new desktop.  It’s nothing fancy, just a pretty much plain installation of Ubuntu Linux.  It’s been working out great so far though!  Biebs donated a hard drive, and I installed Ubuntu on it a few days ago.  And since then, I haven’t even had the need to fire up Windows XP!

It does have a few issues, it won’t run Windows games without a whole lot of convincing, but I have got Guild Wars running almost as good as it does on XP.  For surfing the web, photo editing, music, and just about everything else Ubuntu does just as good a job, if not better, than XP!  Did I mention it’s FREE?

Posted on September 11, 2008, in Tech. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. unfortunately i needz windows for design work and gaming … one down fall to being an ATi fan boy. some one needs to get on the ball with the ATi driver development for linux …

  2. It warms my heart to hear things like this. I’ve been Windows-free at home for several years now… OS X on the laptop and Ubuntu on the desktop. ^_^

