Watched the debates…

I went against my initial judgement and decided to watch what I could of the debates.  I was able to catch the last half of the debates and it did nothing to make me choose one candidate over the other.  I still think they’re both schmoes with the same old political bag of tricks, and I likely won’t be voting for EITHER come election day.

The biggest thing I personally noticed, is that both candidates pretty much agreed on (or completely ignored) most of the real lightning rod issues I have an opinion on.  For instance, Iran shouldn’t have nuclear weapons, and if they did it could potentially create an arms race in the Middle East.  Excellent!  Neither candidate is a RETARD!  And considering one of these guys is all but certian to be presedent, I suppose that’s good for me.

At the same time, one question I was anxious to hear the answer to, yet knew I wouldn’t… was “What would you give up in light of the potential $700 billion+ bail out.  Either both were COMPLETELY unprepared to answer that question (which scares me) or both were very reluctant to make any REAL effort to offset that VERY significant expenditure (which also scares me).

In the end, on one hand I feel I wasted my time…while on the other, I feel I was somewhat obligated to at least observe and digest some information on the future leaders of this country.  Neither has earned my vote, however.  I still intend to write-in this election.

Posted on September 26, 2008, in Meh. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Typical election…choosing the lesser of two evils.

  2. I went against my better judgment and watched the debate online on Friday. I don’t give a rats you know what about politics because the way I see it anyone we elect 6 months to a year down the road everyone’s going to hate anyway. I think there are the big button issues but I have a hard time getting into the politics. I feel as though I wasted my time watching the debate. It didn’t make me for or against either candidate. So my stance was the same before as it was after watching it. I realize we should all be concerned because this is OUR country, and I genuinely wish to be concerned but know that either way its not going to go a way we all want it to go…so why get so involved and all worked up about it? That’s my opinion anyway.

  1. Pingback: so I watched the debate… « Biebs’ World

Leave a Reply

