Working out

One of the perks of my job here is I get a free family memebership to the fitness club here in Great Bend.  Until yesterday I’d never utilized it.  But Andrea and I decided that it couldn’t hurt us to be a little more active.  I already knew that I was phenomenally out of shape.  That and I could stand to lose a few pounds so starting this week we’re going to start going at least twice a week.

I’m certainly no health nut, so I couldn’t tell you what a “smart” workout is supposed to be like, but we started out 20 minutes on a treadmill.  I did a brisk walking pace of 4 mph.  I was quite embarrassed by how quickly my calves and shins developed that burning sensation.  But it was tolerable, so I powered through at the same pace for 15 minutes.  I planned on running the last five minutes, but I could only make it about three and a half before I slowed it back down.  Now my chest was burning in addition to my legs.  I used the last few minutes to cool down at a walking pace, and when I stepped off my legs felt real weird.  Like they were going to keep walking away without the rest of me!

Next they had a bunch of equipment setup to work different muscles, so we went down the line.  I tried to do two sets of 10 on each piece of equipment.  Some I could, some I couldn’t.  The one that really kicked my ass has you hanging at a 45 degree incline doing crunches.  I got about 15 in and that was all I could handle.  So I went over and picked up some dumbells and tried to look like I knew what I was doing, but I could tell I was starting to get a little queasy from the crunch session.

I don’t really remember what Andrea was saying at the time.  All I remember is feeling real shaky and then a cold chilled sensation on my face.  I took long deep breaths trying to get the nausea to subside, but the more I thought about it, the more overwhelming it became.  She was in mid-sentence when I calmly headed straight for the front door.  When I was outside in the freezing cold in shorts and a shirt, I took the opportunity to color me some snow.

Oh how out of shape I am!  But I guess that’s why we’re doing this.  I don’t have any aspirations of running marathons or anything.  Just be a little healthier.  I still plan on going tomorrow (if they’re open).  Hopefully we can stick with it!

Posted on December 23, 2008, in Milestones. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Awesome! A little hard work goes a long way. You’ll feel better every week!

Leave a Reply

