Thanks, Belinda!

Now this is cool.  I always talked about having one, but never really thought I’d have a chance to buy one other than eBay.  These are big, old, and quite fragile!  I spotted this at Andrea’s mom’s house a few months ago and fell in love with it.  It’s a 1920 Victrola.  I’m still not sure what she was thinking… but she just gave it to us.  It’s now definitely the oldest thing I own (except maybe the rocks from Oregon beach, hehe).

Waiting for a good shelf to rest on.

Waiting for a good table to rest on.

Its 90 years old!  What do you expect?

It's 90 years old! What do you expect?

It’s not incredibly valuable and it does need a little freshening up.  The motor squeaks a bit and doesn’t quite last a whole play, the turntable is a little wobbly but after all these years, it’s pretty amazing that it still works!  I recorded a sound clip HERE that you can listen if you want.  If that doesn’t make you feel like you’re in a different era, nothing will!

I’m going to see if I can clean it up mechanically, but I don’t have the tools or the skills to restore the cabinet like it should be.  I’d just end up doing more harm than good.  But I’ll clean it up nice and it should make for quite the conversation piece.  I just think it’s too darn cool.

Posted on March 23, 2009, in Nostalgiariffic. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m jealous. That looks and sounds badass.

Leave a Reply

