We’re in Branson

We’ve had this trip planned for a while, and I can’t believe it’s already here.  We were messing around on the internet one night and discovered Branson is home to the Titanic Museum.  Andrea’s a big fan of the movie, and I’ve always been facinated by the story since I was in grade school, so that was kinda the seed that was planted to start the planning.

We got to town around 4:30 or so, and have just kinda been feeling our way around so far.  There’s a lot of stuff here, but honestly I feel a little out of place.  Branson seems set up for two different demographics.  The Senior Citizen, and the  Family Vacationer.  Lots of buffets, gift shops with oversize broaches, and about 200 different go-kart tracks and water slides.  And of course TONS of shows to go see.

But that’s not to say there’s nothing for us to do.  Just today in the short time we’ve been here we found a nice microbrewery called Charlie’s and I had an excellent dark wheat beer while Andrea enjoyed a tasty chicken-fried steak.  We also visited the Hollywood wax museum.  Lots of celebrity figures and stuff and they let you pose with ’em and take your own pictures even.  Pretty cool. I know Mom’s coming in a few weeks so I won’t post all our pictures and spoil it, but here’s a couple of my favorites.  The rest of the pictures are in my Picasa gallery if you want to see who else is in the museum.

Jack Black and I sharing expressions.

Jack Black and I sharing expressions.

This one kinda freaks me out because the picture almost looks real!  Even the wax Hef can get the ladies in bed!

This one kinda freaks me out because the picture almost looks real! Even the wax Hef' can get the ladies in bed!

So we’re back at the Holiday Inn Express now.  In our SECOND room.  At just before midnite (while typing this post actually) water started dripping from our ceiling into our room.  Tried to call the front desk… but the phone didn’t work!  So I make myself halfway presentable and go up to the front desk and explain what’s going on.  Didn’t have to be mean, or nasty or anything.  And they sent somebody over to look at the leak, and immediately moved us to a king suite!  Nice.  We don’t have our own hot tub or anthing, but it’s a lot nicer room, and all it cost was a few drips!

But now I need to sleep.  Tomorrow is on to the Titanic museum, and whatever else we end up doing.  Who knows!  Here’s a few pics we shot today of the outside of the museum.  I don’t think the ship is QUITE full size, but it’s damn close.  4/5 size maybe.  Still pretty darn big.

ICEBERG!  I hope the museum is still floating tomorrow.

ICEBERG! I hope the museum is still floating tomorrow.

Weird to see half a ship right in the middle of town.

Weird to see half a ship right in the middle of town.

Posted on May 15, 2009, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I can’t wait to hear all about it! My landlord was talking about all there is to do out there, so I know you guys will love it! You guys will have to be sure and fill me in on all the places to go and what to do. When you told me you were heading out there I was soooo excited!

    It’s so funny cuz I was looking at the photos Andrea put on facebook and the Nacho Libre one and Hef were my favorites!

Leave a Reply

