Yay, us!

Good Stuff from the garden!

Good Stuff from the garden!

All the hard work is going to pay off.  The garden is starting to take shape.  Our tomato plants are perking up (one even has blooms already), one jalapeno plant survived and the corn is up and doing well.  I’m not too sure what I’m going to do with the turnips Duane planted, but they are thriving  Seriously, what are turnips good for?

Gardening is good for the soul, also good for reminding me of muscles I haven’t used for a while!

Posted on May 30, 2009, in Saweet!. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hey, looking good! I miss home grown tomatoes. Those are always the best!

    As for turnips, you know I really don’t know! Maybe a soup or something? When I was working at Dillion’s and putting them on the shelf, I’ll be honest, all I could think was “I wonder how much Nook would pay for these?” Ha ha!

    I did a quick search for turnip recipes. allrecipes.com recommends a few turnip dishes:

    -Cider Pork Chop Dinner
    -Newfoundland Style Pea Soup
    -Nana’s Mashed Turnips
    -Corned Beef and Cabbage

    Hmm. I might have to try some mashed turnips sometime… just for fun.

Leave a Reply

