The Poker Den

Well another project tackled (for the most part).  I’ve been wanting to turn our unfinished into a little hangout spot.  I’m liking how it’s shaping up so far, but I need some more quirky junk to decorate with.  I need to hit up some estate auctions or something for all sorts of weird stuff.  We scored a brand new folding poker table off of amazon.com for a reasonable price.   It’s more sturdy than your average folding table and I was pretty impressed with the quality for as little as it cost.

I didn’t want to just set a poker table in an empty unfinished basement though.  I wanted it to look halfway lived in, so I’ve been trying to find some of the stuff that has been tucked away (or just never unpacked from move-in day).  Found some of the old Deep 6 stuff from the band I was in during high school.  And a few car parts I had laying around.  I guess those are decorative… better than a concrete wall I guess.  I want to get a bunch of the old tin signs and things like that.  And old neon sign from a bar or something would be sweet, but those things are expensive!

Eventually I want to get a nicer stereo to put down there.  I just have a little am/fm radio right now.  It’d be cool to put a small couch or loveseat down there, but I don’t know if it would fit down the stairs.  If you haven’t seen the entrance to my basement, it’s just like a trap door in the floor of my utility closet, and I really don’t think any real piece of furniture would fit through it!  But it would be nice to have some kind of comfortable seating down there and I could move my old 25″ TV down there with a Nintendo and/or DVD player so that players that get knocked out of a game have something to do.  Come to think of it… I bet a futon sofa would fit nicely!

So there’s the latest I’ve been up to.  Still a work in progress, but at least I’m not ashamed to show it now.  So come on over and help put it to good use!

Posted on June 10, 2009, in Hells Yeah!, Projects. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Looks great! How did you get that flop? I want to be in that game!

Leave a Reply

