One year!

So we made it one year.  Today’s been a great day.  I told Andrea last night that if she made it to midnite, I’d let her have her present since it’s technically our anniversary then.  Hehe.  We are so terrible at delayed gratification.  I got her a little 24k while gold necklace.  It’s a cross pendant with a little dove engraved on it.  I thought it was cute and she says she likes it.  I know the girl needs some more diamonds, but I just couldn’t spring for that yet.  So I made her the promise that every year, she’ll get something better than the year before.  (This could be my undo-ing!)

I guess tradition states that you keep the top of your cake in the freezer and chow down on your first anniversary.  Besides that sounding really gross… We figured since we got married at a vinyard we’d save a bottle of wine and open that instead.  They say wine is supposed to get better with age… well I dunno about this one.  I mean, it doesn’t taste awful, but I’d swear it tasted better a year ago.  Kinda has a funny whang and a good bite to it now.  Now in Windswept’s defense I’m certian we didn’t store our wine appropriately, you know cool and dark.  Ours was just on a shelf in the kitchen for a year.  But still it was nice to open the bottle just because of what it represents.

So here’s looking forward to the next year!

Posted on June 14, 2009, in Milestones. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Sounds like you guys had a wonderful anniversary! Saving the bottle of wine was an excellent idea. You guys are set to make a lifetime of family traditions. Who is to say any tradition is set in stone. The fun part is making your own!

    And over all these virtues put on love, which binds them all together in perfect unity.
    Colossians 3:14

Leave a Reply

