Another night of shining up old stuff.

I have had the hubcaps off my car for a couple days, doing some work on the brakes and trouble shooting a squeak I had coming from one of my wheels.  Turns out it was one of the hubcaps, so since I had them all off, I decided I might as well take ’em apart and clean ’em up.  And (hopefully) when I put them back together, everything will be nice and tight, and the squeak will be gone!

They look kinda intimidating, but they aren’t too complicated.

Theres five small screws on the backside that hold the center piece on.

There's five small screws on the backside that hold the center piece on.

Once the center piece is off, you can get to all the spokes.  They simply pull out, although some are more stubborn than others!

Once the center piece is off, you can get to all the spokes. They simply pull out, although some are more stubborn than others!

Once the outer spokes are removed, you can remove the inner cover.

Once the outer spokes are removed, you can remove the inner cover.

And now you can get to the bottom spokes.  They also just pull straight out.

And now you can get to the bottom spokes. They also just pull straight out.

You can either try to straighten any bent spokes, or in my case, I have a spare that I used for parts.

Now all the parts are ready to be polished!

You can either try to straighten any bent spokes, or in my case I had a spare wheel cover I used for parts.

You can either try to straighten any bent spokes, or in my case I had a spare wheel cover I used for parts.

When youve polished everything.  (Brasso is fantastic!)   Put it all back together.  Might have to used an assembled one for reference.  Can you tell which one has been shined up?  Ha ha!

When you've polished everything. (Brasso is fantastic!) Put it all back together. Might have to used an assembled one for reference. Can you tell which one has been shined up? Ha ha!

Posted on June 16, 2009, in Cars. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hubcaps look fantastic!

Leave a Reply

