Behind the Scenes: Old Junk

Here’s the “new” radio in action.  I re-soldered the connections on the repaired capacitors, and cleaned up controls a little bit.  Below are the results.  I just love the tubes in these old radios, and even the sound of the power selector.  The volume isn’t “volume”, it’s “LOUDNESS”  Check it out!

Posted on September 1, 2009, in Nostalgiariffic, Radio. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. How did you learn all this on radio innards? Impressive!

    Have you ever had an interest in ham radios? Yeah, different kind of ‘radio’, but it popped into my head when I was watching this.

  2. I have a very limited working knowledge of these old radios, heck electricity for that matter! I learned a lot with that old brown one I first got. I don’t exactly know what all that stuff does, but I do know it worked when they built it, so I just try to put things back the way they were.

    With this one some of the wires were frayed, so I just made the connections a little more solid.

    Ham radios would be neat, but I’m not sure what people broadcast. One of the guys here at the station has a ham operators license. I outta ask him what it’s all about.

Leave a Reply

