Defeating the SNOOZE button.

I don’t know about you, but I for one am NOT a morning person.  It seems like no matter how much sleep I get 4, 6, 8 hours, it doesn’t matter.  Come time to get up I just don’t want to roll out of bed.  Every bone in my body beckons me to just lay back down, close my eyes and return to the peaceful slumber I had been enjoying just moments earlier.

Part of my problem is that I don’t sleep well as it is.  It’s a rare occasion (and a glorious one) when I fall asleep and stay asleep until the morning.  And without a doubt some of the worst sleep of the whole night is the last 30 minutes to an hour in which I’m hitting the Snooze button.  I know it sounds ridiculous, but there’s more mornings than I care to admit that I’m just so tired right when I wake up, that I literally hit Snooze for an hour.

The more I thought about it, the more I realized that that last “hour” of sleep wasn’t doing me any good.  And I got to wondering, what the point of the snooze button really is in the first place.  You aren’t going to get any meaningful sleep in the 9 minutes between snoozes.  So starting last night I made the decision to quit cold turkey.  I don’t want to mess with Andrea’s sleep schedule, so used my cell phone as an alarm, and at 6 AM it went off.  I trudged out of bed and over to the nightstand and grabbed the phone to silence it.  I was groggy as usual, but the slight change in routine was enough to stay focused and head out to the kitchen, rather than just flop back into bed.  And just as I suspected once I was up and at it, it didn’t take any longer to “wake up” and get the ol’ cognitive functions going than it did when I was “sleeping” an hour later.

The best part is I get to ease into the day again.  I actually ate breakfast this morning.  Sat down at the computer and enjoyed a cup of coffee while browsing my usual sites.  And even wrote a blog post!  Ahh!  I think I can get used to this morning person thing!  Just gotta stay focused!

Posted on October 8, 2009, in Sleep. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. So when I read this post I had to keep asking myself did I write this? Minus the correct spelling, perfect grammar, and intelligent word choice & thought it seems like I wrote it. I do the same thing. I’ve been fighting with my alarm clock the last 2 weeks for sure. I’ve spent an hour or more each morning hitting snooze. The sad thing is I have 3 alarm clocks…. I hit snooze on all of them (at different times) which mean they’re all going off all the time. I don’t think I really get any sleep but just hate the fact of getting up. 1 of them is in the living room… I have to get up and walk out to it and what do I do… Hit snooze. I’m pathetic. Maybe this will inspire me to do what you have done… throw out the snooze.

Leave a Reply

