Well, I think the Blazer is up for sale.

I may have to take a blow to my pride, but I might have to admit defeat when it comes to the Blazer.  I was out today loading up all the leaves I’d raked up a couple weeks ago to finally haul them off to the compost site.  As I was hooking the battery back up (because it’s drains dead if you leave it hooked up) I was running through my head what could be screwed up with that thing again.  The truth is I really don’t know.  I’m almost sure it’s something electrical, but I don’t know where to start without throwing parts at it to get it going.  Could be anything from a $20 sensor, or a $400 fuel injector spider.  And unfortunately I don’t have the tools to test the different components correctly.

So I could take it to a shop and hope it’s not something ridiculously expensive to fix.  But if it turns out to be the injectors I can’t really justify the cost of getting it repaired at the shop just because of the multitude of little nickel and dime things that the thing needs.

So after much deliberation I think we’re going to put it up for sale for a little more than we paid for it since it DOES run better than when we got it and it’s a hell of a lot cleaner.  Then put that money towards something that I wouldn’t be afraid to cross a busy intersection with.

The irony is I made two trips to the compost site today and it ran better than it ever has for me.  So far every time I’ve drove it longer than 10 minutes it would die.  But I probably was running around for a good 30 minutes and while I still couldn’t get on the gas without it sputtering, I could just drive around normally with no problem.  Sadly I don’t think there’s a good chance it’ll fix itself.

So if anybody here want’s first crack it it, I’ll give ya the family discount.  😉

Posted on November 28, 2009, in Cars. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

