Hilarious phone call last night.

So nothing much of interest usually happens when I’m at the radio station late running the board for a ball game.  But last night I got a call on the business line that I just about couldn’t keep a straight face though.  I wish I could have recorded it.  I’ll try to recite the call as well as I can remember it.

The woman was older, but not senior aged.  Maybe late 40’s with a slight rasp to her voice.  Her words were spoken with a general tone of bewilderment.

“Eagle Radio and Hull Broadcasting,” I answered.

“Yeah, uh.  Is Trader John on today?”  she said, I assume she is talking about ‘Trading Post’ hosed by our AM guy, John.

“Umm… Yes ma’am.  It was on at 9:00 today and will be on again at 9:00 tomorrow,” I answered.

“Oh, so he’s going to start doing it at night now?” she said a bit suprised.

“No, no.  9:00 to 10:00 in the morning,” I said.

“But I have my radio on right now and I’m picking up some other guy,” she said as if I were lying to her face.

“Well, it’s 9:30 a night right now…” I replied in a deadpan tone.

“IT’S NINE O’CLOCK AT NIGHT?” she bellered.

“Yes, ma’am,” I said trying to keep from snickering, but somewhat wondering if she is messing with me.

“Oh, don’t tell me I slept all day.  Are you sure?  Oh no.  Okay… well… thank you…” she said.

“No problem, Trading Post should be on in about 12 hours!” I couldn’t help it, I let out a small chuckle before hanging up the phone.

Posted on January 21, 2010, in Funny, Idiots, Radio. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Seriously, it wasn’t me! But I could probably do something that bone-headed!

  2. lol … haha …. i wished i had more calls like that at work!

  3. Beautiful. Damn, I miss the freaks you get to meet on the phone. Far more entertaining than in person.

  4. it was a swap shop listener visiting some relatives.

Leave a Reply

