Fun with stuff that’s almost 100 years old.

So I’ve had this idea for a while that I wanted to do something somewhat different with audio on the site.  I wanted to have two things going at once in each speaker, but both related.  I hadn’t really thought of a way for it to (kinda) make sense until now.  A while ago I put a “superloud” needle in the old Victrola.  The increase in sound quality and (you guessed it) volume were amazing.  I tried to capture it as best I could with my crummy microphone but it just doesn’t do it justice.

At any rate, Here is Gloria Hart & the Art Kassel Orchestra.  In your left speaker you will hear the mid 50’s press, recorded (crapily) from the Victrola, and in the right speaker, the 2008 digitally remastered CD version.

LISTEN

Posted on February 5, 2010, in Music. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think that is the coolest!

Leave a Reply

