New shoes!

Okay, not a new photo, but I'm not running out to take a pic of my tires at 6AM!

Well last time I posted about wheel opinions, which I brought up because I was really in the market for new tires.  I went ahead and bit the bullet on the tires, so if I ever do decide to get wheels, I’m limited to the same size wheels I have now (15″) which isn’t terrible since I’m not a big fan of the huge rims.  Although I was considering going up as high as 17″.  But oh well.

For a long long time I’ve been fighting a vibration going down the road.  It all started back shortly before we moved to Great Bend when my right rear caliper locked up… overheated and warped my right rear rotor.  But at the time being in the middle of a wedding and not even having enough money to get ourselves moved… I was forced to drive it for a while.  Eventually I got the caliper and rotor fixed which eliminated most of the vibration, but as my negligence continued it actually wore the tire out of round, taking a tiny bit of rubber off the side of the tire that had been dragging on the warped rotor.  The result was that even after I had all new hardware installed, there was still a slight vibration that got REALLY annoying above 60 MPH or so.  As such my car was relegated to around town duty while the Mustang hauled us on long trips to Minnesota, Wichita and SWK all the time.

So now four new tires and from what I can tell, the vibration is gone!  The ride is smooth and comfortable (or at least as comfortable as it can be on Great Bend’s awful streets).  I’m really anxious to hit the hiway and set the cruise.  This car is so comfortable and easy to drive that it just makes the miles melt away.

As I look outside, now about 7 o’clock and the skies are lightening up it makes me anxious for the spring time.  I have a laundry list of automotive goals I need to get done.  Priority one, get the Blazer serviceable.  That is going to be a long term project I feel as I’m going to have to rewire the whole driver’s dash area and some under the hood.  I need to do some maintenance to the Mustang, replace some gaskets and check out the transmission fluid.  And my car needs a radiator flush, some exhaust work, and a little touching up on my cheap bastard paint job.  Should be enough to keep me busy through the summer!

Posted on February 25, 2010, in Cars. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I kinda like the rims you have on there!

  2. This post is all about the smooth comfort but for some reason takes me back to the Flippin’ The Switches times! Glad the vibration is gone I bet she is fantastic now!

  3. Ha ha. “Flippin’ the switches.” I forgot all about that! Good times. I miss carpooling with Rodney. =(

Leave a Reply

