Ready to retreat, more every day.

Note:  I started writing this blog almost a week ago and finally finished it today… timeframes referenced probably aren’t consistant!

So this morning I got up at 6am with my alarm clock, despite staying up until almost midnite last night.  I kicked on the coffee and decided I’d do a little web surfing to start the day.  Then I did something I shouldn’t have.  I kicked on the Google News page.

With all the commotion going on about this health care reform, I foolishly took up an interest in its outcome.  I watched the final stages unfold much as one would watch the end of a match between the worlds finest chess players.  I get the basics of the game, but the moves are completely above my head and happening so quickly that it’s easy to see how people can feel that stuff like this is just being rammed through.  Every move is so carefully calculated, planned, and countless unseen hands are pulling the strings.

I had initially had the intention that I was going to find out what the Health Care bill really meant, form my own opinion and take side on the issue.  Of course nobody was talking about this story.  It was about the “Story within the story”.  Some jackball yelling “Baby Killer”, or isolated cases (yes yes, I realize of real people) from both sides that are supposed to convince me one way or another to be for or against the broad sweeping legislation that apparently all of a sudden has a deadline.

What further discouraged my already misplaced faith in the populous were the comments section in all of these news stories.  After coming up dry on the real information I really wanted, I continue to read heated purely emotional discussions between ignorant people that have no intention of discussion.  They’d just rather have the opposing argument eliminated.  I guess it was disappointing because it was all so predictable.

1 John 2:15Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. 16For everything in the world—the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does—comes not from the Father but from the world.

There are SO many struggles I face every day, trying to be more like Christ.  But the passage above is certainly one of the least difficult!  What a lot of folks see as interesting, entertaining, or desirable– All too often I see them as mundane, predictable, and empty.  Six hundred shows on TV about nurses and doctors?  Oh yay, a new greener car!   TV Guy says: “Here’s something you didn’t know exsisted until just now but you HAVE TO HAVE IT!”

The term “rat race” seems all to literal.  Running a maze to get some piece of cheese, only when you get the cheese you realize the maze continues for more bigger cheeze.  Then you look around and realize everyone elses cheeze is bigger and tastier than yours… so you keep running.  If only everybody knew that the race was voluntary.  I mean I don’t try to be different for different’s sake, I just try to be comfortable in every situation… perhaps at times making the people around me somewhat uncomfortable, hehe.

Jenn blogged about Facebook today. It made me realize how far from the center I am.  Not to say Jenn isn’t a unique person, far from it.  But Facebook is top dead center on what is popular in today’s culture, and I really couldn’t have less to do with it.  I’ve never been too social.  Infact even back in school I always preferred my small group of good friends over being the popular one, or center of attention.  So in that respect Facebook is a little overwhelming for me.  I’m sure there’s plenty of others just like me out there, but we’re the weird ones.

So I’ve once again swore off Google News, and really the media in general in most respects.  I’ll stick to message boards and a few niche websites.  And if I just so happen to find out some major earth shattering event two days after it happened via the IGN Boards, so be it… It wouldn’t be the first time!

Posted on March 26, 2010, in Annoyances, Faith. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Wow…. very interesting. Convicting, inspiring, and makes me question things. Very deep my friend very deep.

  2. Well that’s what we do here. Make people question things… like my sanity et al.

  3. amen brotha! you are the main reason ive pretty much banned all media outlets. ive had a better insight on my outlook im alot less crabby and when debates start up about crap i dont care about i dont have to input my 2cents because i have no idea what they are talking about!

  4. My reading this morning was 1 John, also. We get so caught up in the struggle to be ‘right’ about everything. I’ve come to the point that I only NEED to be right in my belief and behavior. At the end of the day, I’ll settle for being RIGHT with GOD.

  5. You know what’s funny? I was just reading one of my messageboards and found out about the Baja earthquake on Oldspower.com! Haha.

Leave a Reply

