246,865 miles

And that’s as far as she’ll go.  Figures, right after the brand new tires.

I think the Toronado is finally done for.  I went out to start her up this morning just like every morning and it started up, but then immediately died.  Try as I might she wouldn’t turn over, but I couldn’t get it to run again.

So I didn’t have time to mess with it, and it was a nice morning anyway, so I walked to work.  Andrea picked me up at lunch and brought me home and I started to trouble shoot.  I found that there was no spark at the spark plugs, so after checking all the wires and making sure they were working, I pulled the distributor cap off to see if anything was broken or corroded.  Just for S&G’s I had Andrea turn the car over with the cap off…. the rotor didn’t move AT ALL.  There’s only a few ways that could happen, and none of them good.

No turn, no spark, no run, no go.

The most likely scenario is the timing chain finally gave out.  And to fix that takes more tools than I have, and a good part of the front of the engine needs to be disassembled.  We’re talking water pump, balancer, timing cover, hoses, belts, and since the engine is so far forward in this car, the radiator would need to come out to just to get a puller in to get the balancer and timing gears out!  ARGH!

It pains me but I think it’s just not worth it.  If I can’t sell it quick for cheap I’m going to have to junk it just to get SOME money out of it, because I have to have a car of some kind, and the Blazer isn’t reliable without some work and I still am not 100% sure what’s wrong with it.  Ugh.  Oh well it’s been a good run.  Anybody have some leads on cars?  Anything?  I’m desperate and would even drive something foreign at this point!

Posted on April 1, 2010, in Cars, Nooooo!. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Went out to give it one last ditch effort before bed. Turned the key and it was a miracle! Started right up! Almost like the car knew it was April Fool’s day! He he. Still going strong.

  2. Good one! Even I was upset over losing the Toro!

  3. For a minute there I thought I was going to have to wipe a tear from my eye.

Leave a Reply

