First post of July. Randomness to follow

Aye carrumba.  What a crazy few weeks it’s been.  I haven’t posted, and really I haven’t been online much at all.  The biggest factor has been the promotion I got at work.  Our Operations Manager took a new job so I had the opportunity to move up to that position.  It’s going to be a new challenge, and one I think I’m definitely ready for.  But right now, I’m still carrying a lot of my old duties while we get people trained and it’s a lot of extra hours for now.  Eventually though it won’t be too bad.

A family friend, Dave Boyce died this past week and I was hoping we could make it up for the funeral in Woodlawn.  I was hoping we could make it up, but our Camaro giveaway and the extra workload would have made it real crazy.  I wasn’t that close to him personally, but he’s one of those guys that I just remember always being around when I was a kid and always there whenever I went back to Sabetha.  It just goes to show ya that we could all take our last ride any day.

I’ve been walking to work alot lately.  It’s only about 5 blocks from the house so 10 minutes is about my daily commute by foot.  I don’t know if it’s really contributed, but I’ve lost about 5 pounds in the last month.  The last few days have been so damn hot though, 100+ and if I walk home for lunch, I’m just a stinky sweaty mess by the time I get back to work.  And nobody wants that.

I finally broke down and got a smart phone.  The HTC Hero.  Andrea has been dead-set on an Android phone since Nextech Wireless got them in.  And I’ll admit, I’ve been sorta itching to jump on the smartphone bandwagon.  Having my gmail and calendar with me all the time is REALLY attractive.  So I’ve been messing with it for a while so far and really been liking it.  The typing on the touchscreen is going to take some getting used to though.

So I think I’m just laying low this weekend.  Kinda re-grouping.  I have tons around here that needs done, but none of it right away.  So for now, back to piddling with this damn phone!

Posted on July 17, 2010, in Milestones, Radio, Tech. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Hope you’ve had a nice, relaxing weekend! You deserve it!

    Enjoy the phone. A couple people have something like it at work and they LOVE them!

  2. Hey buddy congrats on the promotion!! That’s awesome. Sounds like you’re super busy right now. That’s awesome that you guys were giving away a Camaro!! How did you manage to get a Camaro to give away? Congrats again on the promotion.

  3. Hey, thanks! This is the third year our stations have given away a car. We work with a different local dealership every year and we’re able to trade out a portion of it, and sell appearance dates for several weeks leading up to it that make up the difference (and hopefully a little more).

    You always worry with these things that the person who wins can’t afford the taxes and what not, but we got lucky and the gal that won was able to make it happen. Somebody said they saw her driving around just the other day in it. That’s pretty cool!

Leave a Reply

