Don’t go to bed early.

Last night was nice.  It was the first night this week it seems that there wasn’t a ton of things going on.  No ballgames to run, no computers to work on, no shopping or bowling or anything like that.  Just a good evening to lay low and relax.

Andrea and I hung out and messed around on the computer for a while, then watched some TV.  Ended up playing Crusin’ USA for a while and went coast to coast in just over 20 minutes.  By about 8:30, Andrea is beat and turning in, and I decide I’ll go lay in bed with her and read some of the new Guild Wars book.  I knock out a couple chapters and I’m asleep by 9:00 myself.

Now I usually wake up several times during the night, so that’s no surprise.  But I was laying in bed about 2:30 this morning and just dying of thirst.  Infact I remember dreaming that I was driving some company van from Dodge City to Cimarron and thinking to myself “I hope I get there soon because I’m dang thirsty!”

So I lay there for a short while until I decide to go ahead and get up and get a glass of milk.  Polish that off and go lay back down and sink into bed.  I get nice, cozy and comfortable, but now for whatever reason my mind is completely awake.  I mean full alert WIDE AWAKE.  But knowing it’s 2:30 I try to convince myself that sleep is a good thing.  I lay tossing and turning for an hour and a half, maybe drifting off once or twice.  But come 4:15 I just said screw it and here I am.  Up and at it.

I’m probably going to pay for this this afternoon and it’s going to throw off my sleep schedule all weekend.  Oh well.  At least I got a blog post out of it!

Posted on January 28, 2011, in Sleep. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love the wee-hours of the morning! Not many people are up and I step outside to peace and quiet…it’s just nice.

Leave a Reply

