Practice vs. Predisposition

I knew someone growing up that always insisted that they, I or anyone could be just as good as anyone else given the right amount of effort and practice.  I rather, postulated that some are naturally gifted with certian talents and that neither she, I or anyone else would EVER be as good as them given equal amounts of effort and practice.

I submit to the court exhibit A:  A 5 year old drummer

This kid has already surpassed my skills as a drummer.  I’m not terrible, I’m not good.  I’m probably smack dab in the middle of the bell curve.  Lil’ Johnah there has a bright future ahead of him, because with plenty of practice he could potentially be the most phenomenal percussionist the world has ever seen.  Me?  Well if I practice long and hard enough, I could surely be good enough to be a professional drummer.  But I don’t know anyone who in their right mind would consider me a phenom.

I don’t want to short effort and ethic for achieving goals.  That’s not what this is about.  But just to lay to rest an old argument that we aren’t all created QUITE equal.  You have some God given abilities somewhere that others don’t.  Find ’em and use ’em!  Mine just happen to be in Mario Kart.  Haha!

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Philosification, WTF, Yeah Right. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

