Holy Haven’t Posted!

Wow, I never anticipated how hard it would be to keep up with the blog after Luke got here. I can’t really blame it all on him though. It’s not like I was making regular updates before!  But it’s been a while so figured I should do a general update.

First off, Luke is doing great.  That’s always the first question everyone asks, so I should get it out of the way.  Ha ha.  Really though, he’s healthy, he smiles a lot.  I don’t think we could have realistically got any better of a kid.  Andrea says she still is enjoying being a stay at home Mom.  At least it hasn’t been bad enough yet to complain about.

Work has been really busy.  Lots of remotes and just got back from the Kansas Association of Broadcasters’ convention.  I won a second place award for our station website khokfm.com.  It’s nothing special though.  And actually the website will be going away here in the next few months as we merge all the station websites into one.  Anyway, rather than recognition for the award, I mostly went to see some other folks from our company.  It was funny though.  I’m such a boring person.  The first night of the convention after the banquet I went up to our very nice hotel room.

I mean here ya go.  I started writing this one hour ago and this is as far as I’ve gotten.  Where was I?  Maybe I should keep track of the interruptions?

Okay, so I finish eating and head up to the hotel room.  I kick back and relax a bit and turn on the World Series.  My roommate for the night decided that he was going to go for a run on the

Sorry interrupted again.

He was going on a run on the KU campus and go see some of the landmarks.  I’m more of a walker than a runner, and didn’t bring anything besides my dress shoes anyway.  So I watched some football and figured if anyone is going out they’ll text me.  So I watch about an inning and a half of baseball and the big supper is really starting to kick in.  The comfy bed is feeling better every moment.  So I decide that if anyone was heading out, they’d already done so by now, and I wasn’t missed so I was gonna settle in and enjoy a little solitary time.  I get the PJ’s on and almost immediately thereafter, I get a

Sorry about that.

I got my pj’s on and right away

Dang it.

PJ’s were on and THEN I get the message to come down and hang out… Sorry guys.  That ship sailed.  I’m anchored to the bed now.  Haha!  So I finished out the game while playing a little Zelda: Oracle of Sea

Back.

Oracle of Seasons.  I did make some progress!  Then I finished up listening to a podcast I downloaded over the weekend and drifted off to sleep.

The funniest part of the trip was the drive home though.  I was driving the station van and we got off the turnpike in Topeka and immediately after the toll booth, the road was closed.  (We later found out someone had attempted suicide on the interstate and that’s why the closed the road).

Okay, hold on.  I have to make a small aside here.  I think suicide is the most selfish act a person can commit.  I understand there’s disorders and mental conditions that can lead to tragic suicide.  But I have little compassion for someone who uses it as a way to escape what they choose not to deal with by committing an act that only effects those around them and not themselves (they’re dead).  Take this guy.  Forget any family and friends who have to clean up the mess of finances, family, and are emotionally scared.  But closed down the busiest road in the state for hours and collectively wasted hours of people’s time.  So forgive me if I don’t think of a suicide as tragic.  I just makes me think that person was an irresponsible asshole.  But with that said…

We were guided off the highway to some north bound four lane and I said, “Well I’ll just follow the detour signs”.  But after about 5 miles it became apparent that there were no detour signs.  So we jog west a bit

Back.

We went west and then headed back towards I-70 again.  Got on, but noticed that the hiway was pretty desolate.  Sure enough, next exit, they had another road block set up.  So we got off there and were in pretty desparate need of gas as we’d planned on stopping in Topeka to get gas, and couldn’t really afford to be running all over town just trying to get from one side to the other.  So I pulled in to a Phillips 66 station, but what seemed like a decent neighborhood at a glance started

Sorry.

We pulled in and slowly started noticing bars on the windows and the sketchy nature of the clientele.  Well, too late, we’d already committed.  They card reader at the pump didn’t work.  Infact pre-pay was the only option.  The gal at the counter said too many people were driving off so it was pre-pay only (go figure).  So after several swipes and two different gas pumps we finally got 3/4 of a tank of gas which was enough to get home and we got the hell out of there.

We headed south until we found something… anything that looked like a major through road that headed west in Topeka so we could get around the dang road blocks.  We found Topeka Blvd. which was the only street that sounded familiar to all three of us in the Van.  Of course road construction had this down to 1 lane a lot of the way.  Basically by the time it was all said and done it took us an hour to get through Topeka.

Once on the interstate the rest of the trip was really pretty uneventful.

I’ve been doing a lot of gaming lately.  I’ve found that now that my free time is divided up a lot more, it’s a lot easier to play console games and just hit pause when needed and come back whenever I can.  Maybe even the next day.  Guild Wars you can do that to an extent if you’re not playing with anyone, but if you’re going to be gone for an extended period, you have to stay logged in then hope that you haven’t got disconnected by the time you come back.  So console gaming is just easier.

And even better beyond that, I’ve found that

Hold up… baby is getting grumpy.

I’ve found that portable gaming is really awesome.  If Luke is hanging out upstairs and Andrea is on the laptop, I can grab the DS or Game Boy and go hang out with them and if something comes up with Luke I can just pause and help out, or if Andrea and I start talking, it’s easy to just put it down and come back to it later, no matter where we happen to be in the house.

So that’s got me on eBay now looking at a lot of old Game Boy stuff trying to figure out if I can fill out my portable gaming collection any more.  Because unlike my console game collection, I’ve actually beaten and completed most of my handheld games.  The only one I haven’t, Zelda: Oracle of Seasons

Poor kid…getting squirmy.

I’ve gotten pretty far in that Zelda game this time around.  Farther than

Well I walked him around for a while, I think he’s hungry, but momma doesn’t think so.  She’s probably right.

Anyway, I’ve gotten farther than I ever have before on that game.  Thanks so much to backloggery.com for bringing to light this great game I still had and never beaten.

Hey, what do you know, he was hungry!

Well it’s been three hours since I started this… I’d better get to bed.  Work tomorrow!

 

Posted on October 26, 2011, in Family, Radio. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

