Happy St. Patrick’s Day!

Well they say on St. Patrick’s day you’re supposed to plant your potatoes.  I got that done!  I planted those and my yellow onions, and my garden is already half full!  I think I’m going to have to tear up some more ground for the pumpkins and watermelons for sure.  Plus I still have corn to plant, and peppers, and… yeah, my garden is going to be too small I think.  And tearing up all that ground took me three days!  Haha.  Roto tillers are for wimps.

Funny story, a co-worker of  mine and I were talking and I told him that I was planting a garden.  He asked how it was going and I said pretty slow because I’m just using a spade to do all the cultivating.  He said that the local hardware store was renting tillers pretty cheap.  “I’m communing with my ancestors,” I said.

“Oh, you mean you’re cheap!” he said.

Ha ha.  Well, ya, I guess that’s no secret.  But honestly there is something pretty therapeutic about sticking the shovel in the ground and breaking through all the years of roots.  Does kind of make you think of how many years people all over the earth lived like this.  There were no part-timers to schedule, or mufflers to change.  It was a very basic way of life, and to think if my survival was penned on my gardening skills… God help me!

So afterwards I felt like I deserved a reward.  And after all it was St. Patty’s Day so…

Which I am still enjoying now.  It’s a medium dark beer, and QUITE hoppy.  Boulevard makes some great beer, and this is definitely my seasonal favorite.  Not a beer you want to sit around and drink a lot of, but a nice treat.

Now gonna kick back and relax for the rest of the evening.  Might even bust out the telescope and take a look at Venus and Jupiter!

Posted on March 17, 2012, in Holidays, Projects. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

