To Grandma’s House We Go

Looking off from Grandpa and Grandma’s House

Well you know in my last post I’ve been talking about how it’s tiring to be off traveling so many weekends in a row.  But at the same time how it’s completely worth it?  This weekend is another great example of that. 

Andrea, Luke and I came up to Sabetha this weekend.  We carpooled with Jamie, Bryan and their family to come to Grandma Pat’s and Grandpa Wayne’s memorial. 

It was a very nice service.  Lots of people there.  I saw some people that I only recognized by name as I’d hear Grandma or Grandpa talking on the phone.  I always rememebr often both Pat & Wayne would pick up the phone at the same time when someone called, so a lot of times, when you called their house, you’d get to have a conversation with both of them at the same time.  Haha. 

There were a lot of nice touches.  I really liked on their memorial stone, how Grandpa had a horse engraved on his side, and Grandma had a little rocking horse on her side.  Grandpa always loved horses, and Grandma has SO many rocking horses that she had collected over the years.  I thought it was very fitting. 

The preacher asked if anyone has stories to share, and man I could think of a ton from when I was groing up, but I didn’t want to speak, because I knew I’d lose it and no one would be able to understand me. I remember how she worked at the rest home and would always save soup can labels that we could turn in for school.  And she always had iced tea, and this sweet 10 sweetner.  It was kinda like Sweet & Low, but it was a liquid that you would drizzle in to the drink.  I used to make the sweetest tea ever at Grandma’s house.  Grandpa also like to drink coffee down at the old “Midway” truck stop.  I remember sitting in the booth out there while the guys chattered.  Lots of great memories. 

We’ve got to spend a lot of time with Grandma & Grandpa Althouse too.  I hadn’t realized how long it’s been since I’d been back here.  The old gas stove is gone that heated the house, and now they have central air!  Some things like that have changed, but walking around, I still see so many different things that I used to play on and around, that haven’t changed all that much. It’s been good to see everyone.  Bittersweet to be sure.  We’re off to church here soon at the old place I used to go to vacation Bible school, then the long road home.

Posted on June 24, 2012, in Family, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

