Hot Mammer Jammer

No AC for the last 5 hours or so. 100+ outside.

We’re having a heat wave.  Sure doesn’t feel like a tropical heatwave though.  We hit a high of 108 today.  And it’s times like this when you find out if your air conditioner is up to snuff.  Ours apparently was not.

First of all, my car doesn’t have a working air conditioner, it’s something I’ve resigned to.  I could repair it, but I keep telling my self the Toronado days are closer to the end than they are the beginning.  So unless I get the determination to drive this thing for another 4 years or so, I’m fine with weathering the 20 or so really hot days we have every year, just this year it started in June!

So I get home after a hot ride home and head into the house.  It takes about 5 minutes or so, but I start to realize, the relief I was expecting from the sweltering heat hadn’t yet set in.  I thought it was possibly because Andrea’s mom was over cooking in the kitchen with the stove and oven on.  But then I thought… no it’s still too hot.  I look at the thermostat and it reads 82.  Uh oh.  That’s not right.

It’s only then that I remember when I watered the garden right as I got home, I set my phone and bag by the air conditioner unit, and it wasn’t running.  I poke my head out the back to see if by chance it was running now… nope.  Last time this happened it was just a breaker tripped.  So Luke, who was getting impatient for supper, and I headed down to the breaker box to see if anything was out of place.  At first glance everything looked as it should.  At second glance… everything still was as it should.  So the problem wasn’t there.  Time to call the landlord.

Say what you will about renting vs. home ownership.  Each has merits of its own at times.  In this particular instance, I enjoy that from this point forward, someone else it taking care of it… and paying for it.  I know I pay for it over the months in rent, but I look at it as kind of a deductible free insurance policy.  When the hail took out the roof, I just made a phone call.  Now that the AC is out, I just make a phone call.  I may not be able to drill holes in the wall or build equity, but renting isn’t all bad.

So we are hanging out in the basement now. It’s 9PM and it’s down to 94 outside.  Here in an hour or so we’ll open up the house and try to pull in some cooler air.  Supposed to get down to 72 tonight.  Right on.  We’ll kick on the attic fan and suck in that fresh air, and then when I get up in the morning I’ll close it all up and try to seal it in as much as we can.  Considering it was almost 110 today, its remarkable that it never broke 90 in the house.

Repair man should be here tomorrow.  If not our neighbor already offered to leave the door unlocked so Andrea and Luke can go hang out in the coolness if needed.  Just another nice thing about living in a small town.

Posted on June 25, 2012, in Annoyances. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

