Just What I Needed

Yesterday was the first time in a while I didn’t leave the house.  Well I didn’t leave the driveway at least.  No work, no travel.  Just some honest to goodness free time.

First I slept in.  I highly recommend it if you ever get to try it, but like anything else, you don’t want to get used to it.  So I rolled out of bed at 8:15am and started up some coffee, and went out to the garden and pulled up a nice batch of potatoes and a fresh yellow onion. We didn’t have much for breakfast, but I fried those up and Andrea made some muffins and it was a pretty alright breakfast!  Just needed some bacon and eggs to be perfect!

Afterwards I went back outside and aired up the pool for Luke and I to play in.  It was a hot day, but didn’t feel too bad once you hopped in.  Luke did pretty good, but the water was a little bit deeper than his bathtime, so he had to get used to the fact that he couldn’t just crawl and flop around like he’s used to.  He inhaled a big gasp of water once, and that was a little scary, but he coughed it up, and went right back to playing again.  Haha.

I also got to play some of my “new to me” Super Off Road game I scored for 99 cents on eBay.  I remember renting the game back in the day, but I never owned it.  I probably played it for almost an hour non stop.  I made it as far as race 40 and was getting my butt kicked.  That one sitting was worth the 99 cents right there.  So my NES collection continues to grow.

So it was a great Sunday.  And even with that one day of R&R I feel ready to face the week.  Of course it helps that it’s going to be a short week with the 4th of July smack dab in the middle.  That helps the motivation too.

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Family, Hells Yeah!, Luke, Retro, Video Games. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

