Crossing State Lines

I can’t remember the last time I crossed the Kansas border.  It’s been years for sure.  But recently we headed to Denver for a Boston Bruins vs Colorado Avalanche game.  In the last two years Andrea and I have grown an affinity for watching Hockey.  If you look back far enough on this blog I talked about wanting to get into the sport but not sure who to cheer for.  I proclaimed at the beginning of the season that I would choose the team I would follow by whoever one the Stanley Cup that year.  So in the 2010-2011 season, every team competed for the NHL Championship… and me as a fan for life.  I was that close to being a Vancouver fan, but Boston won 4-0 in Game Seven.

We had great seats.  We were up high, but right on center ice.  It was a great view and a great game as Boston won 2-0.  It’s always cool going to any game like that and seeing the same guys you see on TV all the time.

My Entourage

After the game, we headed back to the hotel.  Saturday was a fun day.  We went to the Denver Museum of Science and Nature.  It was a pretty neat place.  There’s a TON of stuff for kids and I really want to bring Luke back in a couple years when he’s old enough to have fun with a lot of the different exhibits.  The museum offered pretty basic information, but it covered a really broad spectrum and had great exhibits that showed how things worked.

I learned quite a bit of stuff I didn’t know in the nature museum.  Like beavers lips close behind its teeth so it can carry sticks without swallowing water.  And that caribou are the only species where females grow antlers.

After the museum we went to a place downtown in Denver called the Cherry Cricket.  The place was jammed.  Definitely not Denver’s best kept secret, there were more people in the place than live in my entire town.  It was a pub type atmosphere but got great reviews for its food.  We decided it was worth waiting 30 minutes for a table… I’ve waited longer for worse food.  And the food here was superb.  I ordered some kind of specialty burger medium rare, and it was outstanding!  Best burger I’ve had in a long long time.  Good beer on tap too.  Worth tolerating the crowd and the wait for sure.

It had a name, but I only remember how it tasted.

That afternoon we took a short drive up into the mountains and just kinda roamed around with no particular place to go, and no idea where we were going.  It was actually snowing on Saturday, so that made for some absolutely breathtaking scenery.  I really wish we could have spent more time in the mountains.  I’m not a big city, big crowd, guy at all.  Get me off the beaten path and let me relax and take in creation.  That’s exhilarating to me.

It was getting dark by the time we made it back to Denver.  We headed back to the hotel to decide where to eat.  We settled on a unique little pizza place of which I can’t begin to remember the actual name.  I just remember I kept calling it “Joe Blow’s”.  A joke which I probably took to its absolute limits.  It was good though.  The Pizza was sold by the POUND and had big thick crusts, but wasn’t greasy.  Joe Blow’s was probably the least populated place of the entire trip.  The waitress was fun and quirky, but it could have used some atmosphere.  It felt like an old Golden Corral.  I remember Andrea watching a lot of soccer on the TV while I enjoyed one of the local brews… Coors Light.

It was a good trip.  I’m really glad we went.  Now it’s time to hunker down for what we are calling, “The Year of Boring” as we save up for a house.  Still a year or so out on that project.

Posted on March 26, 2014, in Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

